Alumni Athletes

National football foundation National football foundation

Three Hurricane Legends Named to the NFF and College Hall of Fame Ballot

CORAL GABLES, Fla. – A trio of legendary Miami Hurricanes are among the 75 players from the Football Bowl Subdivision who have been selected to the official ballot for induction into the National Football Foundation and College Hall of Fame.

First-team All-Americans Warren Sapp (1994), Ray Lewis (1995) and Ed Reed (2000 and 2001) have each been chosen for the 2018 national ballot. They will have the opportunity to join the 10 Hurricanes that have been previously selected to the NFF and College Hall of Fame.

The announcement of the 2018 Class will be made Monday, Jan. 8, 2018, in Atlanta. The city is serving as the host for the CFP National Championship, which will be played later that day at Mercedes-Benz Stadium. Some of the inductees will be on site during the announcement to represent the class and share their thoughts on being elected. The Jan. 8 announcement will be televised live, and specific viewing information will be available as the date draws near. A few inductees will also participate in the pregame festivities and the coin toss before the championship game.

Read the full story